Peanut Butter Rice Pudding with Homemade Chocolate Sauce

Hello,

I would like you to eat something delicious. And this is it.

IMG_9672

Before I get to that, I would like to discuss a lesson I learned this week. Tuesday evening I learned it is not best to cut your own bangs, let alone at 1:30 in the morning after drinking wine and watching Roman Holiday. Avoid this scenario at all costs.

I also cut about four inches off the main length of my hair, but you know I’m actually impressed about how that turned out. I mean, I did watch like ten instructive youtube videos, so I’m pretty much an expert now.

Jeezel Pete.

Happier topics.

IMG_9451

Like Peanut Butter and Rice Pudding. A few nights ago I was getting really worried about running out of ideas and recipes for this blog thing. And then this popped into my head.

IMG_9601

I first had rice pudding made with arborio rice (the same rice used for risotto) at a restaurant in Mashpee, Massachusetts called Bleu. It’s a great French restaurant on Cape Cod, and being so far from the Cape I had to recreate it for myself. I did some research and found a great recipe on smittenkitchen.com 

I wanted to meld two of my favorite desserts, rice pudding and peanut butter pie, and this was the result.

IMG_9682

Peanut Butter Rice Pudding *

1/2 cup Arborio Rice

4 cups Milk

1/3 cup Sugar

1/2 Vanilla Bean, or 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

4 tbsp Peanut Butter

In a mid size saucepan add rice, milk, and sugar over medium heat bring to a gentle boil and then reduce to a simmer. If using a vanilla bean, cut the whole bean in half and then split one of those pieces in half again. Take the side of your knife scrape the vanilla  seeds out of the pod and add the seeds and the empty pods into the pot. Keep an eye on the rice stirring frequently after 30 minutes test the rice for doneness. Once the rice is done add the peanut butter and combine. Serve warm. This will make four small servings.

*adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Check out the recipe for a great chocolate sauce at The Slow Roasted Italian!

Leave a comment