Inn on the Sound’s Granola… sort of..

In the spirit of a new found commitment to posting, here is more food.

My favorite granola, and because cereal is expensive I decided to make my own.

 

JBA_0001

This is a Ina Garten recipe tweaked by my Aunt Janet and loved by all guests that visit the Inn on the Sound.

I’ve tweaked it once again for what I had on hand yesterday.

It’s a really simple recipe.

Not to mention, cereal is pretty pricey for a very little amount of product. The initial purchase of all of these ingredients can seen expensive but they last, and are mostly multipurpose. Plus you can also throw in what you have in stock or whatever you prefer, the only irreplaceables are the oats, almonds, canola oil, and honey.

For fruits I used organic dried cranberries from Sandwich, Massachusetts, and golden raisins because I love them.

JBA_9992

JBA_9982

 

And I have a big container of cashews, so they were thrown in as well.

JBA_9953

You have to crush them up. It will help you let go of the pent-up anger you have against mother nature’s never ending winter.

I hate snow.

This latest storm broke my soul a little bit.

JBA_9963

 

Alright, I’ll write this one out.

3 1/2 cups of rolled oats

1 cup of sliced almonds

1 cup of flaked coconut

1/2 cup canola oil

1/3 cup of honey

1 cup of roasted cashews

1 cup of raisins

1 cup of dried fruit of your choice.

Mix the oats, almonds, and flaked coconut. Add, the canola oil, and then the honey, stir it all in and spread it out onto a cookie sheet and bake for twenty minutes at 350°.  At ten minutes fold the mixture over itself to prevent burning.  Once removed from the oven put the mixture into a large metal bowl and add the dried fruit to the warm granola. This will help plump the fruit back up, stir in the cashews and allow everything to cool down… and there you have it!

JBA_9967

 

Leave a Reply

