Braised Cipollini Onions

It’s been a long two weeks, this latest and (here’s hoping) last bout of winter had killed any sort of creative cooking drive I had left. Outside of Annie’s boxed macaroni and cheese, I have been living on chips, dips, toast, and yogurt.

Isn’t it fitting that on the first day of spring, I got a little trot back in my giddy up? Sorry, I’m  lame, and now I want to watch Seinfeld.

IMG_0509

At the super market I will often stop in front of the cipollini onions and ponder, to buy or not to buy.. but today I cut the bullshit and got them. It was a great impulse, it lead me procuring some really beautiful halibut for dinner tonight.

Halibut that ended up not so pretty, because I had no idea what I was doing and should have just let my uncle Howard broil it.

Damnit.

Onions. Onions braised with cider vinegar.

These turned out to be pretty sweet with a nice twang, extremely good spread on bread with a nice sharp piece of cheddar.

First, you need to blanch them, they cook in boiling water for one minute and then you dunk them into a bowl of ice water.

IMG_0381

(post plunge)

This step, however tedious, is a sanity saver, peeling these onions uncooked is a serious hassle.

IMG_0391

(post peel)

It still took me about ten minutes, but I am easily distracted by shiny objects.

Next! Throw them into a pot with some olive oil and brown the onions for about ten minutes.

IMG_0433

Add a 1/2 cup of apple juice to deglaze the pan, scrub off all the little bits of flavor. Throw in a few sprigs of thyme, or just the leaves. You will also need to add 1 cup of vegetable broth, 2 tablespoons of honey, and one bay leaf.

IMG_0452

Bring this to a boil for ten minutes, reduce heat to low and let it simmer for about two hours.

IMG_0521

Remove the onions carefully with a slotted spoon and return the left over liquid to the heat. Reduce by half and strain for a really delicious sauce.

IMG_0515

One thought on “Braised Cipollini Onions

Leave a Reply

