Brussels Sprouts.

Day 3 of jet lag is taking its toll on me.

IMG_0055

I’ve been up at 5 am every day for three days in a row, which is extremely unlike me. However, the perk is the water front sunrise with a good cup of coffee.

IMG_0117

But by now (9 am), I need a nap.

When things in life get hectic I turn to food, whether it’s cooking or stress eating; in times of woe you can find me by the fridge. So yesterday, I decided to make my favorite Brussels Sprouts.

IMG_9823

Oh man, mini cabbages; they are my favorite vegetable by far and I just love to look at them. By now, Brussels Sprouts season is almost up, so I eat them as much as possible. Well, here in the states you can get them any time of year, but the French super markets start pulling them off the shelves in about two weeks.

They are a winter vegetable for a reason, and I like to keep them in my winter eating box.

It’s a theoretical box.

Back to the point. This is a really simple recipe that will easily score you compliments from even the most snooty of foodies.

IMG_9901

Sautée the sprouts with garlic in olive oil until they are nicely browned and bright green – about 15 minutes. Then add the juice of one them and cook them for about ten minutes. You can add a splash of white wine or chicken broth for a little bit more of a steam.

IMG_9943

Then, add the soy sauce, cook for another five to ten minutes. I use Tamari, but I couldn’t explain the difference between the two. I would look it up, but as I mentioned earlier.. I’m ready for a nap.

Test them for the preferred texture. I like them with a bit of a crunch.

Garnish with some lemon zest.

Tangy.

IMG_9963

I like them even better cold.

Soy Lemon Brussels

1 pound Brussels Sprouts

3 cloves of Garlic, minced

2 tablespoons Olive Oil

1 whole Lemon, juiced

2 tablespoons soy sauce

Black pepper to taste

Rinse brussels sprouts and slice off the ends and then cut each sprout in half. Discard any discolored leafs. Mince three cloves of garlic. Over medium heat, add the olive oil to a large pan. Add the brussels spouts and garlic and cook for 15 minutes stirring often. Add lemon juice and cook for ten minutes. Add soy sauce and pepper to cook for an additional five minutes. Serve hot or cold.

Leave a Reply

