Stuffed Mushrooms, Stuffed Whitney

Today I learned that taking pictures of cooking and cooked sausage is more difficult than one would expect. Also, the fact that the sausage was a last minute edition to this recipe did not help ease my frustration.

I have a natural aversion to electronics, too many buttons on a device gives me a head ache.
Therefore, I have no idea what I am doing with this whole fancy camera, shoot pictures, skim shot nonsense. This blog seemed like a much better idea when I thought Jon would be taking most of these pictures.
ANYWAYS
 
Food. 
It’s cold out, but ’tis the season to prune. So, Jon, Java, and I set out to the vineyard to snip away last years vines to create neat little grape trees.
My wrist hurts, so I wanted a treat. Sausage and artichoke stuffed mushrooms anyone?
IMG_8063
According to some, stuffed mushrooms are a retro relic from cocktail parties of yore. But I say nay, they are a timeless classic – little caps of delicious joy.
However, these caps are not so little, they are knife and fork stuffed mushrooms.
If you make these, use a food processor if you have one, for some reason I decided it would be so much more fun to dice by hand while watching The Wire and drinking wine. Not my best decision ever.
IMG_7893 IMG_7925
Mushrooms naturally have a lot of moisture in them, it makes them tricky to wash if you dont want your dish to be too soggy. I used to wipe them down with a paper towel, until I came across the Atlantic to the Old World and watched my friend Marie pull the top layer of mushroom skin right off the fungi.
She noticed me staring, so I had to ask her why she did it, to which her reply was simply “It’s what I saw my mother do, so I do it”.
Oh to be French.
It’s time consuming, but now I can’t stop myself from peeling.
IMG_7880 IMG_7882
It helps to first remove the stem.  Then pry the layer loose, and strip!
IMG_7884 IMG_7885
It’s great.
IMG_7892 IMG_7905
After this you should mince the stems. Put the minced pieces inside of a tea towel, or paper towel and wring out the excess moisture. This is a tip I picked up from one Mrs. Julia Child and her stuffed mushrooms.
IMG_7914 IMG_7933
Then mince four small shallots (two large), and two cloves of garlic, and a jar of artichokes hearts.
Sautee a half a pound of sausage.
Use whatever type of sausage you want, or use lentils, or tofu,. I have never met a soybean I didn’t like.
IMG_7973 IMG_7867
Bramble loves sausage.
After the sausage is cooked, drain the pan.. or be like me and opt not to drain the pan, and cook the minced veggies in sausage fat and then add a tablespoon of butter. Season with salt and pepper.
Sorry, I’m not sorry.
Remember to add some tarragon, and a tablespoon of heavy cream to the artichoke mixture while it’s cooking.
IMG_7902 IMG_7878
Back to the point.
Mix the sausage and artichoke mixture together in a bowl and then add in 1/2 cup of bread crumbs and a 1/4 of a cup Parmesan.
IMG_7993                  IMG_8019
Slosh some olive oil all over the mushroom caps before you stuff them. Bake them for half an hour at 350°F or 175°C.
IMG_8026 IMG_8032
…. I ended up topping them off with some Gruyere cheese.. and stuck them under the broiler for about five minutes. Toasted cheese is delicious.
IMG_8065 IMG_8044
Now, back to my box of Beaujolais.
3 thoughts on “Stuffed Mushrooms, Stuffed Whitney

  1. “Aunt Nettie” from USA LOVES looking at your blog. Your palet is a bit refined for Uncle Melvin but your “eye” for capturing the vision is perfect. Love you!

Leave a Reply

