Pizza Friday

Sometimes I think to myself.. I want to be thin, and then I remember that cheese exists.

Even better than cheese – melted cheese, which leads us to Pizza.

My favorite day of the week is Friday, not because of the upcoming weekend but because Friday night is Pizza Night. It’s a night of excess to say the least, so for my first food post, I thought it would be best to bring out “Old Faithful”. The recipe for the crust I picked up from my friend Kim about a year ago. It was love at first bite and I’ve used it religiously ever since.

The day started out with removing clips from the vine wires in one of the vineyards, to warm ourselves up in the afternoon Java brewed up a delicious batch of mulled wine… which you should all go read about over on her great blog Tin Cup Brew Up!

Plus there are pretty pictures of me on there, so everyone should go look just for that.

The pictures for this post were birthed from the lens skills of a Mr. Jon Tipler. He know’s his way around a camera.. and a cheese plate.

After sufficiently buzzing our facilities we embarked on the pizza making…

Pizza Pizza

Ingredients

1 packet of active dry yeast                                  2 tablespoons of sugar

1 1/2 cups of warm water                                    2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 teaspoon of salt                                                  4 cups of flour (about probably about half a cup extra to get the proper consistency)

In a large bowl mix the yeast and all of the sugar, then add the  1 1/2 cups of warm water. The water can not be too hot or it will kill the yeast.. and that is not fun, your dough will not rise. Give it a stir and let it sit for 10 minutes, in that time a foaming substance will collect on the surface of the water – this is a yeast.

Add the olive oil and salt and stir.

 IMG_2714

After this, you will add the flour into the bowl, do this one cup at a time gradually thickening from a batter into a dough. With the addition of the fourth cup you will need to you your hands (or a dough hook if you’re lucky enough to have a kitchen aid stand mixture… I obviously do not, opting for a more rustic, frustrating, archaic approach). The dough should be needed for 10 minutes.

IMG_2716 IMG_2726

Split the dough in half and form the blogs into balls. Place the doughs into separate bowls that have been covered in olive oil, let them sit covered for 2 hours.

IMG_2736 IMG_2778

Once the doughs are sitting, you can get all of your toppings ready.

I actually made four pizza’s for this post, doubling a recipe is easy enough.

I made two supreme cheeses, which had mozzarella, comte, emmental, gouda, and blue cheese. We also had a red sauce with red onion, green olive, and garlic, last but not least I did a pesto base with mushroom, broccoli, garlic and red onion.

I like to use the balls of mozzarella and slice them.

IMG_2772 IMG_2774

Slice the veg!!

IMG_2792

I like to give the broccoli and the mushrooms a quick cook over medium heat for about five mintues.

IMG_2776

During this I am forced to ignore the pathetic pleas for scraps by Bramble .

IMG_2784

I give in every time.

Sauce. I think sauce is a very personal matter, every time I make it it comes about differently. I usually sautee three garlic cloves and a whole yellow onion, then add a 16 ounce can of whole peeled tomatoes.  After a few minutes over medium heat you can smash the tomatoes into small bits. I like to add a 1/4 cup of red wine and a herb mixture, either herbs de provence or an italian mixture.

If you want to use sauce out of a jar, by all means pour away, it will still be delicious. And the choices don’t stop with tomato, on one of these beauties I used pesto.

IMG_2798 IMG_2819

IMG_2820 IMG_2826

IMG_2842 IMG_2861

Succeeding at homemade pizza gives you a great feeling of triumph. It will please crowds, make friends jealous, and most importantly – impress strangers.

IMG_2851 IMG_2847

EAT CHEESE!

One thought on “Pizza Friday

  1. Pingback: “Wine is the most civilized thing in the world.” Ernest Hemingway «

Leave a Reply

